Spicy Black Eyed Pea Soup

This New Year rendition of black eyed peas turned out so awesome, I had to blog it before I forgot what I put in it 🙂

Leftover ham bone (hopefully with some ham still on it)
1 pint fresh blackeyed peas
1/2 onion, chopped
Several broccoli florets (they basically disintegrate, but good for nutrition, right?)
1/2 tomato, chopped
1 cup tomato sauce
2 cups chicken stock
2 cups vegetable stock
water, as needed
1 TB thyme
2 bay leaves
2 TB Cholula or other hot sauce
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
Black pepper to taste

My cooktop was broken on New Year’s day, so I made this in a dutch oven in the oven. I put the ham bone and all the vegetables, tomato sauce, herbs, spices, and stock in the dutch oven and put it in the oven on 375 for a couple of hours. I ended up cranking the temp up to 400 to keep it simmering, and I added water as needed until the peas were done. The peas took a lot longer than I thought they would. I think the total was about four hours. Shred any ham left on the bone and toss it in. It’s delicious!

2 Responses to Spicy Black Eyed Pea Soup

  1. Barbara says:

    Glad to see new posts here! Thanks, Martha!

  2. Allie says:

    You’re baa-aack! Yay!!!

Leave a Reply

